What is Gruha Maitri in Kundali Matching?

Category -
Gruha Maitri in Kundali Matching

Kundali matching has become an essential part of Hindus in making important decisions like selecting a life partner or starting a business. Kundali matching is a part of our Vedic astrology which is believed to be 5,000 years old. Kundali matching is done by checking the horoscope of the individual or a couple if they want to get married. 

An experienced Vedic astrologer can help you get the correct perspective of your future by making accurate predictions. Most weddings in India are decided based on the kundali matching of the potential partners. The couple's horoscope will be matched to check the eight essential aspects of successful wedding life. 

The eight aspects of life are the eight kootas (Ashtakoota) and the process of matching the kootas is known as the Ashtakoota matching. The process involves matching the horoscope of the bride and groom to check the alignment of their stars. This will help astrologers understand the future of potential partners when they are married. 

The eight kootas together sum up to a total of 36 points or gunas. A couple who gets 18 gunas or more can lead a happy and healthy wedding. Following are the eight kootas that will be checked when matching the horoscope of the bride and groom.

  • Varna
  • Vashya
  • Tara
  • Yoni
  • Gruha Maitri
  • Gana
  • Bhakoot
  • Nadi 

Every koota represents an important aspect of the couple’s life. Every koota is provided with a specific guna and it is believed that the couple who gets maximum points or gunas will lead a healthy life. In addition, a couple who gets less than 18 points is not recommended for a wedding life. Let’s look at the Gruha Maitri koota elaborately.

What is Gruha Maitri?

Gruha Maitri is the fifth koota in the kundali matching. This koota holds five points out of the total 36 points. Gruha Maitri speaks about the mental levels and mutual affection between the potential couple. The mental levels and mutual affection of the couples are divided into three categories namely; 

  • Friends
  • Enemies
  • Neutral

Vedic astrology compares the ruling planet of the bride and groom to determine their mental levels after their wedding. Because each planet has unique characteristics and only specific planets will match with other planets. Following are the planets which will be matched to check the mental levels in Gruha Maitri koota

  • Sun
  • Moon
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Saturn 

The following table will show clearly the matching of planets.

The above will clearly explain which planet will become friends, enemies and neutral with other planets. Based on this match only, the gunas will be allotted in the Gruha Maitri koota match. For instance, if both planets are the same which means they are friends and they will get the complete five points in the Gruha Maitri koota. 

The following table will explain the point allocation for every combination of the ruling planets in the Gruha Maitri koota match. 

Simple explanation of the above table is as follows;

  • If both are friends then they will get 5 points.
  • If one is friendly and the other is neutral then they get 4 points.
  • When both planets are neutral then they will get 3 points.
  • When one is friendly and the other is the enemy then they get 1 point.
  • A neutral and enemy combination will get 0.5 points.
  • An enemy-enemy combination will get no point.

A couple with 4 or 5 gunas is considered a good match and 3 points are considered average and below 3 is considered a bad match. There are certain rules that are being followed in the Gruha Maitri koota in the kundali matching. The rules help the astrologers to do the kundali matching and make predictions with maximum accuracy. In addition, the Gruha Maitri koota is matched based on the Rashi of the bride and groom, not the Janma nakshatra. 

What is Gruha Maitri Dosha?

Gruha Maitri dosha happens when the Janma Rashi of the bride and groom does not match. This means that when one of the planets is an enemy to the other. Simply put, when the guna of the Gruha Maitri is 0 or less than 2. 

We can ignore or cancel the Gruha Maitri dosha under certain circumstances. We ignore the Gruha Maitri dosha when 

  • The kundali matching doesn’t have Nadi dosha, Bhakoot dosha and Gana dosha.
  • Both planets are friendly enough to influence each other. 
  • Moon signs of the bride and groom are influenced by the same planet. 
Got questions about
Marriage, Relationship or Career ?
Get Answers from Astrologers for FREE
chat with astrologer now
register now