Different Types of Dashas in Janam Kundali

Category -
Dashas in Janam Kundali

Astrology is an integral part of the lives of Indians. From checking the daily horoscope to matching Kundali before weddings, astrology is a part of every important decision in our lives. There are many things involved in our Vedic astrology like Kootas, Planetary position, Doshas, Dasha, etc. to make precise predictions.

Among the many things involved in astrology, Dasha plays an important role in the horoscope of a person. 

What is Dasha?

Dasha is a Sanskrit word that means the period of planets in Vedic astrology. Astrologers use Dasha to make predictions about the good and bad things that will happen in an individual's life based on the following things

  • Zodiac Sign (Rashi)
  • House (Bhava)
  • Combinations (Yogas or Raja Yogas)
  • Aspects (Drishti)

In astrology, there are many Dasha systems, and the Parashara mentions about forty-two of the Dashas. Among these forty-two Dashas, the Vimshottari and Ashtottari are the only ones that are in use currently to check the Janam Kundali. Dasha helps to decide on the effects of planets on an individual’s life by understanding how the planets distribute their effects in their Kundali. The Doshas are controlled by one of the nine planets. 

Significance of Dashas in Astrology

Dashas hold an important part in our Vedic astrology because of their ability to show the good and bad situations in an individual’s life in their Kundali. It will show the progress, ups, downs and suffering in a person’s life. This is also based on the belief in Karma and reincarnation. From our Vedic astrology, we can understand that karma is what you get based on the deeds you did in your previous life. 

If you do good deeds, you will get good karma and for bad deeds, you will get bad karma. It is believed that people don’t have to reincarnate into a new life if they have good Karma, while people with bad karma will have to reincarnate and they will be in the loop of their lives. 

This is why the planetary Dosha plays an important role in a person's Janam Kundali. 

Types of Dosha in Kundali

Based on Vedic astrology, the life path of a person is based on the planetary positions in a horoscope. Following are the types of Doshas in Kundali;

  • Vimshottari Mahadasha 
  • Antardasha
  • Pratyantar Dasha
  • Sookshm Dasha

Among the different types of Dashas in Kundali, Vimshottari Mahadasha is the most widely used one in recent times. Based on the Vimshottari Mahadasha, the time period of Dasha on each planet differs from one another. Following are the duration of Dasha on each planet based on the Vimshottari Mahadasha in Janam Kundali;

  • Sun (Surya) - 6 years
  • Moon (Chandra) - 10 years
  • Mars (Mangal) - 7 years
  • Jupiter (Guru) - 16 years
  • Saturn (Shani) - 19 years
  • Mercury (Budha) - 17 years
  • Venus (Shukra) - 20 years
  • Rahu - 18 years
  • Ketu - 7 years

It is impossible for anyone to experience the Vimshottari Mahadasha in their lifetime. Because the Vimshottari Mahadasha follows a 120-year life cycle and the average lifetime of humans is not that much. Each Mahadasha of a planet is connected to sub-divisional positions of other planets and this phenomenon is called Antardasha.

Following this approach, the Dasha is further split into what is known as a Pratyantar Dasha. This helps in attaining a daily or hourly basis. Earlier astrological studies calculated the time of prophecies and happenings by considering the planets involved in Dasha, Antardasha, Prarabdha (a component of your previous karma), and so on in a person's Kundali.

Effect of Mahadasha on Life

Mahadasha effects are significant in your life since it has a significant impact on your horoscope and horoscope matching for your wedding life. All of your activities are determined by which Mahadasha you will inhabit next and what is now going on in your life. During any Mahadasha, you will be awarded or punished based on your previous acts. This is also linked to your former lives. Essentially, this is about Karma.

The Moon dictates what Dasha will happen next in your life. You enter one Dasha after another from birth, based on your natal chart in your Kundali, and this decides what type of Mahadasha effects you will see and feel. The governing planet of the Maha Dasha, whether placed correctly or incorrectly, determines whether it will have a favourable or negative influence on your life.

Got questions about
Marriage, Relationship or Career ?
Get Answers from Astrologers for FREE
chat with astrologer now
register now